The Yalta Agreement Definition

The Yalta Agreement Definition: Understanding the Key Points

The Yalta Agreement is one of the most significant political agreements signed in the 20th century. It was signed on February 4, 1945, by the leaders of the three major Allied powers, namely, Franklin D. Roosevelt (the President of the United States), Winston Churchill (the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom), and Joseph Stalin (the General Secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union).

The Yalta Agreement was a wartime alliance that sought to coordinate the efforts of the Allied powers to defeat Nazi Germany and Japan. It had several key points, which we will discuss in this article.

1. The Division of Germany

One of the most significant points of the Yalta Agreement was the division of Germany. It was agreed that Germany would be split into four zones of occupation, with each zone being governed by one of the four Allied powers (the US, the UK, France, and the USSR).

Berlin, the capital of Germany, was also divided into four zones of occupation, with each occupying power governing one of the zones. The division of Germany was meant to ensure that the country would not be a military threat to the rest of Europe, as it had been before World War II.

2. The Creation of the United Nations

The Yalta Agreement also called for the creation of the United Nations, which was established in October 1945. The United Nations was meant to be an international organization that would promote peace and cooperation among nations and prevent future wars.

3. The Post-War Division of Europe

The Yalta Agreement also set the stage for the post-war division of Europe. It was agreed that the countries of Eastern Europe, which had been liberated from Nazi control by the Soviet Union, would be allowed to establish governments of their own choosing.

However, it was also agreed that these governments would have a “friendly” attitude towards the Soviet Union. This paved the way for the establishment of communist governments in Eastern Europe, which would remain in power until the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991.

4. The War Against Japan

Finally, the Yalta Agreement also outlined the Allied strategy for the war against Japan. It was agreed that the Soviet Union would join the war against Japan three months after the end of the war in Europe.

In exchange, the Soviet Union would receive some territory in Asia and the Pacific, including the Kuril Islands and the southern part of Sakhalin Island.


Overall, the Yalta Agreement was a significant political agreement that set the stage for the post-World War II era. It paved the way for the creation of the United Nations, the division of Germany, the post-war division of Europe, and the strategy for the war against Japan.

Understanding the key points of the Yalta Agreement is essential for anyone interested in 20th-century history, international relations, and political science.

Questo elemento è stato inserito in Senza categoria. Aggiungilo ai segnalibri.
Accetta i cookies per proseguire